Permits to carry a concealed weapon in the State of Alabama are issued by the Sheriff’s Office to persons over the age of 18. In order to obtain a permit or renew an expired permit, you must come to the Sheriff's Office or renew by our mail-in program. The Sheriff’s Office is required to run a criminal history and receive an application on all persons requesting a pistol permit.
- Persons applying for a new pistol permit must complete an application
- The Sheriff must do a complete background check
- The Sheriff can deny a permit based on knowledge the Sheriff has based on the history of the applicant.
- If the Sheriff has knowledge otherwise and/or background check reflects no reason(s), the Sheriff shall issue a permit within 30 days
- Applicant may select the number of years he or she wants the permit to be valid – 1 year or 5 years
- Pistol Permit Prices
- Ages 18 to 64
- 1 Year - $25.00
- 5 Years - $125.00
- Ages 65+
- 1 Year - $15.00
- 5 Years - $75.00
- Ages 18 to 64
On January 1, 2023, Alabama’s New Permit-less Carry Law went into effect.
The law states that anyone 19-years of age or older (18-years-old for active, retired or honorably discharged veterans or law enforcement officers), who is not prohibited by state or federal law, may carry a handgun in the state of Alabama without a permit, background check or safety training.
Some of the changes that will go into effect on January 1, 2023 are as follows:
- It is no longer a requirement to have a valid pistol permit to carry a concealed handgun in the state of Alabama. There are several stipulations to this law, some of which are:
- One cannot carry a concealed weapon on private property without the consent of the property owner or the legal possessor of that property
- An employer may not restrict an employee concealing a legally possessed firearm in the employee’s privately-owned vehicle, providing it is stored in compliance with Alabama State Law.
- If an employer believes that an employee is a danger to himself or others, that employer MAY inquire as to whether the employee has a firearm in their vehicle. If the employee is not in compliance with Alabama State Laws regarding the storage of the firearm, the employer may take adverse action against the employee in regards to employment.
- It is no longer prohibited to possess a firearm on the campus of a 2-year or 4-year institution of higher education, provided the firearm is stored inside of the possessor’s privately-owned vehicle and the firearm is stored in compliance with Alabama laws.
- A person may NOT carry a firearm, without the express consent of the person or entity with the authority of the premises on the following properties:
- Inside of a Police, Sheriff or highway patrol station
- Inside or on the premises of a prison, jail, halfway house, community corrections facility or other detention facility
- Inside any facility that provides inpatient or custodial care of those with psychiatric, mental, or emotional disorders.
- Inside a courthouse, courthouse annex, a building in which a district attorney’s office is located, or a building in which a county commission or city council is currently having a regularly scheduled or specially called meeting.
- Inside any facility hosting an athletic event not related to or involving firearms, which is sponsored by a private or public elementary or secondary school or any private or public institution of postsecondary education, unless that person has a valid permit.
- Inside any facility hosting a professional athletic event, not related to or involving firearms, unless that person has a valid permit.
- Inside any building or facility where access of unauthorized persons and prohibited articles is limited during normal hours of operation by the continuous posting of guards or the use of other security features that prevent all persons entering the facility from bringing prohibited items into the facility.
In addition, there is a new law regarding rules for those still wishing to obtain a pistol permit. The changes in the issuance of pistol permits are as follows:
- Pistol Permits will be issued for free to active service members, honorably discharged or retired service members, law enforcement officers or retired law enforcement officers, who are not prohibited from carrying by state or federal law. The applicant must provide a valid DD-214 or proof of active service.
- Alabama residents 18 years of age or older (not prohibited from carrying under state or federal law), who is an active, retired or honorably discharged military veteran may apply for a permit or a renewal of 1 year or 5 years at no charge.
The options for pistol permit durations are now a 1 or 5 year permits. Options for 2, 3 or 4-year permits have been eliminated.
32 states that honor Alabama’s concealed carry permits: Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.
States that DO NOT honor Alabama’s concealed carry permits: California, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, and Washington.